BMC016. Dual Nice Quantizer

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

User avatar
Boogdish
Common Wiggler
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

BMC016. Dual Nice Quantizer

Post by Boogdish » Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:33 pm

Hey everybody, I have a new module design ready. This is something I've been talking about and putting off for a long time. It's basically two of my simple quantizers together on one board with a nicer (as opposed to simpler) design, using some of the features from the UWQ.

Similar to Simple Quantizer:
-16 different musical modes selected by a knob.
-Just plug an input in and take the output to a VCO and you're good.
-Works on either +/-12v or +/-15v

Different from Simple Quantizer:
-10volt range that can be either positive unipolar (0 to 10V) or bi-polar (-5 to +5).
-Quantize bypass can be activated by external gate
-Track and Hold functionality on the input using the "T" input.
-Manual input voltage offset, or external CV summing with input.
-More accurate 4822 DAC instead of PWM+LPF DAC
-Twice the number of quantizers on one board.
-Power connecters for Eurorack and MOTM

There is documentation and more information on my site.
Http://www.bartonmusicalcircuits.com/dnq/

I'm selling a board and a PIC for $18 + shipping and I'll be making blank Eurorack panels for this in the next couple of days which will be $8.
Ordering information is on my site, click the "How To Order" button on the bottom of the page linked above. You can also just PM me here.

Image
Last edited by Boogdish on Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I have DIY stuff and pre-made eurorack modules of my designs at: www.bartonmusicalcircuits.com

User avatar
demian
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:54 am
Location: da Lowlands

Post by demian » Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:51 pm

I was just about to start to build some of your previous quantizers..

But the option : 'Quantize bypass can be activated by external gate' is great, and something i was looking for.

sammy123
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:36 pm

Post by sammy123 » Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:35 pm

Shit, now I am going to have to buy this as well.

User avatar
Peake
I'm in ur DIY. Filling cases with Buchla
Posts: 8248
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Loss Angeles

Post by Peake » Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:37 pm

Cool :)
This is not the place I'd imagined it to be.

seanpark
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:49 pm

Post by seanpark » Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:25 pm

Ordered a simple quantizer last nite from synthcube so now I'll have three :hihi:

User avatar
ABC
Common Wiggler
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:35 pm
Location: The Street, Metaverse

Post by ABC » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:34 am

raw power.

Any chance of a quick demo in the octave mode, just to assess the accuracy? I have some of your last quantisers, and although I consider this a kind of 'feature', their tuning is somewhat idiosyncratic.
bewilderbeast.bandcamp.com

User avatar
ChrisR
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:02 am
Location: Idiot zone, formerly known as "Earth"

Post by ChrisR » Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:40 pm

I'm interested in building this with banana jacks, but i have a question:
In your build doc pg. 9 i see the trigger and gate inputs are normalized to 5V when nothing is plugged into them. Yet on pg. 5 under the "Digital Inputs" schematic you write "RN1 is a 100K bussed resistor network which keeps all of the pins at 0V when no signal is input."
So i figure the 100k's are pulldown resistors for gate and trigger inputs, but then i don't understand the need for the 5V normalization.

I know nothing about PICs, so this might very well be a stupid question. Basically i want to find out if i can build this with bananas without having to add toggle switches for the 5V normalizations.

:tu:
Buy the ticket - take the ride.

User avatar
recompas
Voice of Saturn
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Contact:

Post by recompas » Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:48 pm

Nicely done! I've played around with my friend's simple quantizer boards and this seems like a really nice evolution of the module! Hope to be ordering soon. What type of pots is the pcb footprint for?

User avatar
lintfresh
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 529
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:45 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by lintfresh » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:32 pm

This looks awesome Boogdish.

I just finished a dual simple quantizer last night and like it a lot so far.
Very easy build and super useful!


:tu: :tu:

sammy123
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:36 pm

Post by sammy123 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:57 pm

It doesn't look like the mcp4822 is available at Tayda as mentioned in the build doc. Does Tayda offer an alternative?

User avatar
Boogdish
Common Wiggler
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

Post by Boogdish » Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:00 pm

ABC, I'll make a demo either late tonight or tommorow.
Chris, doing it in bananas, you would want to have switches to normalize +5 when nothing is plugged in. The quantizer doesn't read the CV input unless +5V is on the "T" input, and it will be in bypass mode until there's +5V on the Q input. The pull down resistors are there for when you're using external Gates and Triggers for the Q and T.
Recompas, it uses 16mm pots.
Sammy, sorry that was an oversight when writing the documentation which has now been fixed. I don't see anything compatible on Tayda's site.
I have DIY stuff and pre-made eurorack modules of my designs at: www.bartonmusicalcircuits.com

sammy123
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:36 pm

Post by sammy123 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:12 pm

No problem. Turns out I have the correct IC. :tu:

User avatar
neandrewthal
full clout y'all
Posts: 3782
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: Spending warm summer days indoors writing frightening verse to a buck-toothed girl in Luxembourg

Post by neandrewthal » Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:43 pm

Awesome! I'm definitely getting one of these. I have a question though:

What is the difference between the Trigger and Quantize inputs? It says the Quantize input turns the quantizing on and off. Does that man one gate turns it on and the next gate turns it off?

If this is the case is there a way to make sure it's ALWAYS quantizing if I omit the input and the switch?

What is your avatar?
Initiate the sequence, create catastrophe.

User avatar
terrafractyl
Fractal Wiggler
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by terrafractyl » Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:20 pm

Nice work on updating a very useful DIY module.

I have been waiting for yonks for another run of Clee's 8 channel Quantizer (or that pesky Toppo quantimator).
But now you have updated this and improved the accuracy, I guess I don't have to wait anymore!

:yay:
'People forget that the brain is the biggest erogenous zone' -- Jackie Treehorn
Latest Album-=-Hypnagog Soundcloud-=-Kinematic Records Website

User avatar
Boogdish
Common Wiggler
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

Post by Boogdish » Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:02 pm

neandrewthal wrote:Awesome! I'm definitely getting one of these. I have a question though:

What is the difference between the Trigger and Quantize inputs? It says the Quantize input turns the quantizing on and off. Does that man one gate turns it on and the next gate turns it off?

If this is the case is there a way to make sure it's ALWAYS quantizing if I omit the input and the switch?

What is your avatar?
My avatar is from the TV show Brass Eye. It was a satirical fake news show from the 90s. You can see the context of the image in this clip

When using an external pulse to turn quantizing on or off (the "Q" input), the DNQ will quantize while the pulse is high, and output the non quantized input when the pulse is low.

When using an external pulse to control when the quantizer tracks and when it holds (the "T" input), it will track while the pulse is high, and it will hold the last input while tracking when the pulse is low.

If you didn't want to use these inputs, just wire +5V straight to the Q1, T1, Q2 and T2 wiring pads.

Also, if you only need it to work in unipolar mode, you can completely leave the polarity switch and the two "offset" trimpots off and it will always be unipolar.
I have DIY stuff and pre-made eurorack modules of my designs at: www.bartonmusicalcircuits.com

User avatar
neandrewthal
full clout y'all
Posts: 3782
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: Spending warm summer days indoors writing frightening verse to a buck-toothed girl in Luxembourg

Post by neandrewthal » Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:24 pm

Boogdish wrote:My avatar is from the TV show Brass Eye. It was a satirical fake news show from the 90s. You can see the context of the image in this clip
I watched the whole thing and the pie chart still makes no sense to me. Brilliant!
When using an external pulse to turn quantizing on or off (the "Q" input), the DNQ will quantize while the pulse is high, and output the non quantized input when the pulse is low.
Oh, that's how I thought the T input functioned.
When using an external pulse to control when the quantizer tracks and when it holds (the "T" input), it will track while the pulse is high, and it will hold the last input while tracking when the pulse is low.
Now that sounds like fun!
If you didn't want to use these inputs, just wire +5V straight to the Q1, T1, Q2 and T2 wiring pads.
Well, I'm going to keep one of them because I'm planning on building this into the place of my crappy MFOS quantizers(mostly crappy because I made a mistake somewhere and they are out of tune) that are already built on a panel with some other stuff and they each have holes for 3 jacks and one pot. I may have to find a place to drill some holes to cram the bank switches in though. Wouldn't want to go without those.
Also, if you only need it to work in unipolar mode, you can completely leave the polarity switch and the two "offset" trimpots off and it will always be unipolar.
Actually I want bipolar and unipolar but I don't have room for the switches so I was thinking of just leaving it bipolar and then I can also have up to 5V of unipolar if I want but now after looking at the schematic I'm not so sure.

So all the bipolar switch does is add a negative offset to the output? What if I input a signal that is -5 to +5? Do I have to offset it until it's positive first, and then the bipolar switch is just to get it back to -5 to +5 after?

If it can't natively respond to negative voltages I suppose I could just leave it in unipolar mode and offset my input externally if I want to use a bipolar signal.
Initiate the sequence, create catastrophe.

User avatar
ChrisR
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:02 am
Location: Idiot zone, formerly known as "Earth"

Post by ChrisR » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:54 am

Boogdish wrote:Chris, doing it in bananas, you would want to have switches to normalize +5 when nothing is plugged in. The quantizer doesn't read the CV input unless +5V is on the "T" input, and it will be in bypass mode until there's +5V on the Q input. The pull down resistors are there for when you're using external Gates and Triggers for the Q and T.
Thanks.
I'll have to figure out if i can find space for all of those switches on my panel though.
Buy the ticket - take the ride.

User avatar
Boogdish
Common Wiggler
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

Post by Boogdish » Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:32 pm

neandrewthal wrote:
So all the bipolar switch does is add a negative offset to the output? What if I input a signal that is -5 to +5? Do I have to offset it until it's positive first, and then the bipolar switch is just to get it back to -5 to +5 after?
The bipolar switch adds a positive offset (adjusted by the IN-OFF trimpot) to the input, and a negative offset (adjusted by the OUT-OFF trimpot) to the output.
I have DIY stuff and pre-made eurorack modules of my designs at: www.bartonmusicalcircuits.com

User avatar
Morpher
Common Wiggler
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Post by Morpher » Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:39 am

Very nice!
I'd love to own one.. :cloud:
Anyone in Europe (or even better Holland) who is willing to make me one :hail:

User avatar
falafelbiels
still learning to wiggle
Posts: 4356
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:15 am
Location: Rotterdamm son

Post by falafelbiels » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:28 pm

Sure, in fact I am ordering several BMC boards this weekend, so hop on...

LetterBeacon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by LetterBeacon » Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:03 pm

Is it possible to replace the mode pot with an 8 pos rotary switch so I can select each mode accurately?

A rotary switch with 12k on each pin should do it, shouldn't it?


Edit: Boogdish -did you get around to making that demo? I would love to hear it!

User avatar
emdot_ambient
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3368
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:40 am
Location: Frederick, Maryland USA

Post by emdot_ambient » Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:03 pm

LetterBeacon wrote:Is it possible to replace the mode pot with an 8 pos rotary switch so I can select each mode accurately?

A rotary switch with 12k on each pin should do it, shouldn't it?
I'm not sure on the resitor value, but yes you can do that. It's just more of a pain and is more expensive.

LetterBeacon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by LetterBeacon » Sat Nov 23, 2013 3:49 pm

The pot I'm replacing is 100k linear, so I've just divided 100 by 8 and rounded to the nearest common resistor -12k.

I hoping that's all there is to it, hopefully someone will pipe up if not!

User avatar
aladan
Desperately Seeking Sondra
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post by aladan » Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:36 pm

LetterBeacon wrote:The pot I'm replacing is 100k linear, so I've just divided 100 by 8 and rounded to the nearest common resistor -12k.

I hoping that's all there is to it, hopefully someone will pipe up if not!
What you are proposing will work just fine :tu:

User avatar
Morpher
Common Wiggler
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Post by Morpher » Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:17 pm

Cant wait till I own this :hail:

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”