SilentWay on Linux

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.
phasebash
Ultra Wiggler

SilentWay on Linux

Post by phasebash »

I recently migrated to Linux for reasons unrelated to music production, but am sorely missing SilentWay.

Has anyone reported success running SilentWay on Linux with Wine and the dssi-vst bridge? If not, is it within the realm of possibility to compile to dssi/lv2 (I'm not sure if SilentWay is built using Juce) or one day perhaps offer a native build?

I understand if not many people have asked for this yet.
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by os »

Silent Way does not use JUCE.

A Linux version is highly unlikely, simply due to time constraints.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
hreggi89
Learning to Wiggle

Post by hreggi89 »

Hi.

I'm new to Linux and I'm trying to figure out the same problem, how to use dssi-vst to bridge the Silent Way Windows VST. I see this post is a year old, did you have any luck phasebash ?

I'm running Ubuntu Studio 13.10 with Bitwig Studio and will upgrade to 14.04 once it's released next Thursday and I will also spend some time on trying to figure this out during Easter. I'll post here if I get the plugin running.
hems
Learning to Wiggle

Post by hems »

Not having a linux version is a real deal breaker.

Product manufactories like ES and cycling74, must start thinking about the future ( linux ), and not only the preset ( osx ) and the past ( windows ).

I know the market share for linux isn't big, but perhaps it isn't cause the commercial apps still afraid of wetting their fit.

Once they give it a try, who knows, it will be a sensation ( :

Not to mention, bitwig is out now so the gates are wide open for someone wanting to work with an operational system that is not powered by an Mp3 Player, like iTunes OS, ops, i meant, OSX.
hreggi89
Learning to Wiggle