Korg Monotribe in CV/gate mode [Video demo added!]

Cwejman, Doepfer, Erica, MakeNoise, Mutable instruments, TipTop Audio, Analogue Solutions, and much more! The world’s most popular format.
Be sure to look into MANUFACTURER SUB-FORA as well..

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford

User avatar
rockwoofstone
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:32 am
Location: UK

Post by rockwoofstone »

I've just thrown together the appropriate cable and performed the update, and there's a couple of minor changes you need to make to radiokoala's process to get this to work with standard Eurorack kit.

Assuming you've successfully installed the Monotribe v2.11 update, go into the appropriate setup mode as radiokoala describes by turning on whilst pressing SN and GATE.
You need to make sure that step 1 is lit to enter CV/GATE mode.

This is when things need to be a little different....
Set step 2 and 3 to be UNLIT, which selects V/OCT and the appropriate gate mode for Eurorack (i.e. high gate = note on).

You finally need to calibrate the Monotribe to your input. Easiest way is to use a MIDI module in your rack, so you know exactly what you're feeding in....

Set the VCO Octave on the Monotribe to 16' (I can't tell if you need to do this now, but as it is recommended for when you are doing CV/GATE playback, you may as well do it here just in case).

Select KEY or NARROW range on the Monotribe.

Play note C4 on your keyboard, ensuring your new cable is plugged into the Monotribe (i.e. CV & GATE are both being sent). Whilst holding that note, press PLAY. The LED on the PLAY button will light for around a second then fade out.
Next, play note C5 on your keyboard, and again, whilst holding that note, press PLAY on the Monotribe and wait a second for the LED to fade out.

At this point, you have successfully calibrated the Monotribe, perfectly aligned with an exact 1V/Oct range, and effectively tuned to your system (assuming standard tuning ;-).

Press REC to save the settings, and you're ready to go.

Hope that helps!

One final thing to note is that the MT doesn't appear to be able to respond to any form of envelope, but is limited to it's own three internal envelope shapes, with the second and third picking up a sustain stage in line with the gate length you send. The first envelope has it's own decay, but that cuts off abruptly when the gate closes. Still, better than nothing!
User avatar
rockwoofstone
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:32 am
Location: UK

Post by rockwoofstone »

Of course, as an addendum to the above, that all only applies if you want a "vanilla" approach to controlling your Monotribe. If you want to be somewhat crazier with your sounds, the videos radiokoala is churning out have some great approaches in them!
User avatar
radiokoala
must. build. jacuzzi
Posts: 2550
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:17 am

Post by radiokoala »

rockwoofstone wrote:Of course, as an addendum to the above, that all only applies if you want a "vanilla" approach to controlling your Monotribe. If you want to be somewhat crazier with your sounds, the videos radiokoala is churning out have some great approaches in them!
:tu: Thank you!

You know what else I'm thinking -- if sometime cv/gate out will be added, then you could also have a vanilla chromatic quantizer in the face of monotribe :) In KEY mode I believe any incoming voltage is quantized to the nearest semitone.

But that's not everything - you could also use monotribe to transpose your sequences! So you could send the same CV to a VCO and to another VCO thru monotribe, where you will use octave selector and transpose the incoming stuff octave up/down, or more. If you have a spare VCO, you could give it some sub-oscillator credentials for example :cloud: That's very nice, there's not even many modules (quantimator comes to mind) that allow you transposing stuff...

As you see, I still have some ideas, alright :hihi:
Witness 60 minutes of audio-visual industrial psy-techno
jam-offering (and press like so this wipes away minecraft
videos clean from the trends and we get to see
some proper rave action there, FINALLY):

Image

/ My electro-rap debut!! (video)
/ Analog & modular videos
:smoke:
User avatar
rockwoofstone
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:32 am
Location: UK

Post by rockwoofstone »

Hehe!

The quantising idea got me thinking that as the facility is there to calibrate the MT, you could force some further transposition which isn't full-octave focussed by calibrating at something other than C4-C5.

In other words, you can set the 1V/OCT scale to be whatever you like by just substituting C4-C5 calibration to be whatever you'd like 1V to represent, based at whatever note you desire.
User avatar
radiokoala
must. build. jacuzzi
Posts: 2550
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:17 am

Post by radiokoala »

rockwoofstone wrote:Hehe!

The quantising idea got me thinking that as the facility is there to calibrate the MT, you could force some further transposition which isn't full-octave focussed by calibrating at something other than C4-C5.

In other words, you can set the 1V/OCT scale to be whatever you like by just substituting C4-C5 calibration to be whatever you'd like 1V to represent, based at whatever note you desire.
And last, you could just use it as a simple offset. At 16' mark it is initial voltage, but since the selector goes down (and up) to 64' and 2' respectively, there are possible offsets of -2, -1, +1, +2, and +3V, which could come in handy. (Say, you are using low-amplitude LFO to scan through wavetables, so you patch it to monotribe and with octave selector then can choose the different waves to morph between!)

Things like that. 8_)
Witness 60 minutes of audio-visual industrial psy-techno
jam-offering (and press like so this wipes away minecraft
videos clean from the trends and we get to see
some proper rave action there, FINALLY):

Image

/ My electro-rap debut!! (video)
/ Analog & modular videos
:smoke:
User avatar
hamildad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:46 am
Location: London

Post by hamildad »

when using the Monotribe MIDI mod, there is significant clicking as the internal envelope gate cannot sync with the incoming midi note on/off, this means its fine when filter resonance is high, but dial it down and the clicking is noticable and unwanted.

How is the monotribe when using the CV/gate for sequences/keyboard?

sounding nice?

cant believe the functionality that this unit has, I had written off another firmware update after 2.0.
User avatar
rockwoofstone
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:32 am
Location: UK

Post by rockwoofstone »

@hamildad It can be a bit clicky, very dependent on the envelope selected, so judicious setting of the knobs is in order to minimise that. I got some reasonably usable output.
User avatar
phono1337
2SK30A-O
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:10 am
Location: temple of x0x

Post by phono1337 »

awesome thread guys, just added cv/gate jacks to mine, quick video

[video][/video]

some pics of the solder points on my blog :tu:
Cozmic023
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:23 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Post by Cozmic023 »

Wicked news guys, I've still got my thoughts on getting a desktop module like the Monotribe.

They are very tweakable, and can be modified for midi. (And now CV)

I'm still undecided, but i'm looking at either:
Korg Monotribe
Doepfer Dark Energy (and maybe Dark Time too?)
MFB Nanozwerg
MFB Dominion X

I do own a Blofeld desktop synth (which i love, and is great sounding.) But want something CV synth based that can be used with the modular.)

Cheers
Lee

Edit: Bought a Monotribe this week, great little box!! :sb:
Last edited by Cozmic023 on Sat Mar 30, 2013 9:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jams & Stuff: soundcloud.com/dj-bedlamite

Wanted:
User avatar
darenager
Bad Mother Fucker
Posts: 3882
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:59 pm
Location: England

Post by darenager »

[video][/video]

I also made a video documenting how to scale for V/Oct

[video][/video]
The cool thing is it stores the setting once done, gotta love the Monotribe :sb:
User avatar
felixer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4191
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 9:27 pm
Location: germany

Post by felixer »

Cozmic023 wrote:I do own a Blofeld desktop synth (which i love, and is great sounding.) But want something CV synth based that can be used with the modular.)
just as a suggestion, you could go the other way around and use cv to control your blofeld. doepfer makes the a192-2 for (pitch) cv/gate->midi and the a192-1 for cv->midi controllers (although you can also send note-on etc. with it). i use that one to control my digital mixer from the modular and it works like a charm. midi is slow, so you obviously can't do a lot of things you can do with cv->cv, but for 'general shaping' it's good enough .... to get something like the blofeld in euro you'd need to get the e350 morphing terrarium. plus a pretty versatile filter ...
hope this helps you to make up your mind :zombie: :hide: :mrgreen:
don't need midi, don't need keys, just want knobs and cables (all together now ;-)
mfk
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:30 am

Whats about trigger-in while using CV/Gate-in?

Post by mfk »

Whats about trigger-in while using CV/Gate-in?
Seems to be dysfunctional.
If I use the 4-pole-plug for an extern seq., the trigger-in funtion does not work. (After hitting play, the built-in seq. runs independent)
That's awful. So I have t buy the midi-in-modul to get synchronized drums.
Please correct me if I am wrong!
Cozmic023
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:23 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Post by Cozmic023 »

Thanks for the tips Felixer. I do have a 190-3 Midi / USB interface, but it's been used as USB in Ableton 8 Suite. (Soon to be 9 next week!! :sb: )

Since i started this eurorack craze last year, my wishlist is getting longer!! :lol: (And yes the E350 is on that list too!!)

I've now got to the point where my case is full, but then a shuffle of modules will help. And by selling something first creates funds to by new modules! :hihi:

Cheers
Lee
Jams & Stuff: soundcloud.com/dj-bedlamite

Wanted:
robman84
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:18 am

Re: Whats about trigger-in while using CV/Gate-in?

Post by robman84 »

mfk wrote:Whats about trigger-in while using CV/Gate-in?
Seems to be dysfunctional.
If I use the 4-pole-plug for an extern seq., the trigger-in funtion does not work. (After hitting play, the built-in seq. runs independent)
That's awful. So I have t buy the midi-in-modul to get synchronized drums.
Please correct me if I am wrong!
Wonder what the unused ring is for on the 4-pole? Could it be sync maybe? Might make up a quickie cable.
steevyhead
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Boston

?

Post by steevyhead »

hey guys, im new to this forum, and new to the world of CV etc. Anyways, i just picked up a monotribe, and updated it to 2.11 and i cant seem to get it to play nice with my minibrute. I got a 3.5mm 4 pole cable male, each end is 4 pole, and im plugging it out from gate out on the minibrute to the sync in on monotribe. Turning monotribe on and holding SD and gate time, then choosing step 1 on , holding c4 then play then c5 then play, and finally record. the minibrute will trigger the monotribe but it will only play one note. the same note c4 over and over again.

when i plug it into pitch out it doesnt trigger the monotribe consistantly its glitchy and still doesnt control the monotribes notes correctly. Am i using the wrong cable? should it be 2 4 pole ends on one side and one on the other? does the minibrute not work with monotribe? any help would be greatly appreciated.

ps.

hi guys my name is steve.
User avatar
radiokoala
must. build. jacuzzi
Posts: 2550
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:17 am

Post by radiokoala »

Hi Steve,

your cable should only have one 4-pole jack, the one you plug into the monotribe. On the other side you should have not one 4-pole jack but two mono ones. For use with the minibrute you will plug one to gate out, and another to cv out. (Gate is duration of the note held, and CV is its note value. Of course it doesn't work now, because how you described it monotribe only will recognize one signal -- either gate, or CV.)

Hope this was helpful enough and welcome. :sb:
Witness 60 minutes of audio-visual industrial psy-techno
jam-offering (and press like so this wipes away minecraft
videos clean from the trends and we get to see
some proper rave action there, FINALLY):

Image

/ My electro-rap debut!! (video)
/ Analog & modular videos
:smoke:
steevyhead
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Boston

Post by steevyhead »

radiokoala wrote:Hi Steve,

your cable should only have one 4-pole jack, the one you plug into the monotribe. On the other side you should have not one 4-pole jack but two mono ones. For use with the minibrute you will plug one to gate out, and another to cv out. (Gate is duration of the note held, and CV is its note value. Of course it doesn't work now, because how you described it monotribe only will recognize one signal -- either gate, or CV.)

Hope this was helpful enough and welcome. :sb:
this was SUPER helpful and thank you for the quick reply, i really appreciate it. Ive played guitar bass and drums for about 15 years, but got into synths last year and im HOOKED. i know midi fairly well now, but i dont have any really old gear, or modular gear so im kind of lost, but i understand about needing to have the gate out, and the cv pitch out, into the monotribe. Do i have to MAKE a cord like that? I bought the 4pole 3.5 mm cord on ebay because im not very good at making cords, even at work when i have to make cat - 5 cables i usually pawn the job off to someone else.

is there a place where i can get two mono to one mini jack 4pole? can one of you lovely people make one and ill gladly pay you for your time and supples?

ps thanks for the warm welcome.
User avatar
radiokoala
must. build. jacuzzi
Posts: 2550
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:17 am

Post by radiokoala »

Yea, there are two guys who can offer you ready-made solution:

viewtopic.php?t=39099&postdays=0&postor ... &start=540

Those are breakout boxes though, not a cable. You will only additionally need two patchcords (those we use in our eurorack modular synths) and then you'll be ready to go. :tu:
Witness 60 minutes of audio-visual industrial psy-techno
jam-offering (and press like so this wipes away minecraft
videos clean from the trends and we get to see
some proper rave action there, FINALLY):

Image

/ My electro-rap debut!! (video)
/ Analog & modular videos
:smoke:
User avatar
pfaffenberg
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by pfaffenberg »

You know, I've been on the Muffs here for a few weeks pretty regularly - scouring the Euro threads for info/inspiration on what to nab to finish up my 12U (for the time being, at least)...

Anyhow. I've had a monotribe completely torn apart and just sitting in a pile of pcbs, bent toy keyboards, and "half-builds"....an area I affectionately call "ICU"..it's like these projects are just in a coma or something.lol

So I'm on dinsync's site checking up on some things, and I end up back here reading up on this update. Like others, I'd written off Korg actually caring to update this thing further.

Pretty cool stuff. Maybe I'll actually hack the drum outs, decay mod and then "update" the thing.

The monotribe may make a full recovery, yet - and then some! Fun stuff. :sb:
Cozmic023
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:23 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Post by Cozmic023 »

Hiya Peeps,

Well just bought a Monotribe today, more tweaking toys!! :lol:

Also picked up a PSU too, as i'm sure batteries don't last long!

And picked up a CV box from darenager too.

Let the tweaking commence!! :sb:

Cheers
Lee
Jams & Stuff: soundcloud.com/dj-bedlamite

Wanted:
User avatar
Suineder
Common Wiggler
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:43 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Post by Suineder »

Cozmic023 wrote:Also picked up a PSU too, as i'm sure batteries don't last long!
Oh, you might be surprised. The batteries inside mine right now have lasted for months and the charge is only down by a little, and I've seen a couple other people here with a similar experience. Monotribe is actually fairly efficient with batteries.
Cozmic023
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:23 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Post by Cozmic023 »

Cheers Suineder for the info, that helps a lot! :party:

I have been light on usage with the Monotribe, as most things i use that are battery powered usually end sooner rather than later!! :eek:

I've now got the PSU, and the CV box / Midi box from Darenager now.

Still haven't had any playtime to get MT & modular, to get both talking to each other.

Cheers
Lee
Jams & Stuff: soundcloud.com/dj-bedlamite

Wanted:
User avatar
ezehagar
Scones n' soup
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:42 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Post by ezehagar »

hamildad wrote:when using the Monotribe MIDI mod, there is significant clicking as the internal envelope gate cannot sync with the incoming midi note on/off, this means its fine when filter resonance is high, but dial it down and the clicking is noticable and unwanted.
I'm having the same clicky pop sounds. Is this just a limitation?
I've made the firmware updates and soldered the cable assembly and it all works. Except the pop when the gate opens and closes. Is there a way to get rid of the pop?
Cheers
Z
Matze
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:29 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Connecting Monotribe w. QuNexus via KMI CV Cable Kit:Help!

Post by Matze »

Hello All,

this is my first post and I admit to being what is often referred to as a noob in certain circles. (Not a total noob, just a noob.)

For the last few days I've been trying to use the V 2.11 Monotribe CV functionality with a QuNexus controller using the KMI CV Cable Kit – to no avail. I've viewed a number of videos and can't really figure out why it's not working.

Seeing as you guys here are all knowledgable to a degree that puts me to shame I wonder if you might help me out and point me in the direction of a thread or a resource that has a truly idiotproof step by step tutorial.

What cable goes where etc. what buttons to press on the Monotribe in Gate CV Mode...


Thanks very much and a fine week to you all,

Matt
User avatar
hamildad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:46 am
Location: London

Post by hamildad »

Are you sure the cable is right? Are you using the proper qunexus cable? I use a Nokia AV one.

Have you downloaded the right firmware and set it up to take in CV/Gate instead of Sync? it defaults to taking sync in that jack unless you change the settings.

have you calibrated it? you need to play an octave, and then store that.

even if I plug in the gate to the CV, I get some noise, so are you getting anything when you plug it in??

and have you got any eurorack to test that out on? or have you just got a monotribe?
Attachments
monotribe_OS v21_E1.pdf
guid to using the 'new' monotribe OS
(460.86 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Post Reply

Return to “1U & 3U Eurorack Modules”