Circuit design for M32-style crossfader

Cwejman, Doepfer, Erica, MakeNoise, Mutable instruments, TipTop Audio, Analogue Solutions, and much more! The world’s most popular format.
Be sure to look into MANUFACTURER SUB-FORA as well..
tomatoKetchup
Common Wiggler

Circuit design for M32-style crossfader

Post by tomatoKetchup »

Hello,

I'm diving into diy electronics for the 1st time. I'm currently studying Sound production and we have an audio electronics class, but being 1st year my knowledge is still fairly basic.

With help from my teacher I designed the following circuit, which is basically a crossfader as found on the Moog Mother 32 patchbay, with 2 inputs and 2 outputs (the 2nd out is an inverted signal of the 1st).

The 2 switches (KEY 1 and KEY 2) on the left-hand side simulate the internal switch of the 2 INs mini-jack connectors, so that when nothing is plugged here, a variable DC signal is output (same as on the M32).

In theory (and on Multisim simulations), the following circuit works as it should, but my teacher doesn't know much about Eurorack standards in modular synth world, that's why I'm posting the design here to get some feedback from you guys.

If you spot anything wrong here (again by Eurorack standards), or if you need more explanation of what each part of the circuit does, please let me know. Any comments to improve design are also welcome.

Hopefully I should soon be able to test the circuit on breadboard, we'll see how it goes! :)
Attachments
Xfader1.png
Xfader1.png (32.03 KiB) Viewed 525 times
euromorcego
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by euromorcego »

here is some previous discussion about a crossfader: viewtopic.php?t=87903