That’s it, I’m in!

Cwejman, Doepfer, Erica, MakeNoise, Mutable instruments, TipTop Audio, Analogue Solutions, and much more! The world’s most popular format.
Be sure to look into MANUFACTURER SUB-FORA as well..

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

ParsecWaves
Common Wiggler

That’s it, I’m in!

Post by ParsecWaves » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:20 am

That’s it, I’m in!

A few weeks ago, I finally decided to make the jump, and build my own eurorack modular. :banana:

I always been tempted by making sounds, music. I took piano lessons during my teenage years.
Spent an embarrassing number of hours in front of a crappy tone bank digital synth.
Years later I played with Propellerhead’s Rebirth (The ol' Mac OS version), more years, then Reason.
I even bought a pretty good controller I mostly never used.

But I never had that academic music composer flux going...
Of course! I am not a musician. I am not even a passable keyboard player.
What was I thinking? :doh:

Years passed, but the itch was still around.

I had seen those patched blinking contraptions before here and there, but it didn’t even crossed my mind I could see one close up, much less own one.

About a year ago, while browsing YouTube I watched Alessandro Cortini’s Trash Audio at the Apothecary 1 and 2 (Hi Richard!). It was a blast!
I searched a bit to find out he was playing an EMS Synthi, then a Buchla Music Easel. Wow, yeah well, okay. Pricey.
Next up was Everything Ends Here, performed by A. Cortini and Don Buchla in person at the S.F. Electronic Music Festival 2010. Blast again and ouch!
Okay I now know what is a Buchla and how much it costs. Forget it.

Then, last year I stumbled upon this video, probably responsible for half the sales of Metropolises (hats off mylarmelodies).
Followed by the IDOW documentary. And was finally mesmerized with Dylan Brown's Intellijel Metropolis Opus 1 & 2.

What? – Yes I’m already obsessed by the Metropolis... :intellijel:

But not so fast.