Convert DITTO looper to Eurorack module?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
L.C.O.
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2383
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:34 pm
Location: usa

Convert DITTO looper to Eurorack module?

Post by L.C.O. » Thu Jun 19, 2014 1:02 pm

Hi guys,
so, I have one of those tiny DITTO loopers, and I thought it would be fairly easy to mount it as 8HP eororack module. The only thing is that it needs a 9V DC power supply.
Can anyone help me with a way of drawing the 9V out of the case 12V rail?
Thank you!

Image
Image

User avatar
dadek
hrrmmm...
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:25 am
Location: SoCal

Post by dadek » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:25 pm

i'd be very interested in trying this also if someone has the know how. :guinness:

User avatar
L.C.O.
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2383
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:34 pm
Location: usa

Post by L.C.O. » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:17 pm

It can't be that difficult? :-)

User avatar
plugugly
Common Wiggler
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx

Post by plugugly » Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:11 pm

In terms of getting 9v out of 12v, all you would need to do is wire up a 9v regulator such as a 7809. However your input and output would have to be modified to work with the signal levels of the rest of your synthesizer.

Would also like to see some cv/trigger added to the controls.

Care to open it up and trace out a schematic?

User avatar
scottmoon
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2452
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Sierra Foothills
Contact:

Post by scottmoon » Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:25 pm

I bet this could be done to the little stereo Jamman Express pedal also. Does the Ditto have the soft stomp switch like the Jamman?
"If you think this world is bad, you should see some of the others" - PKD

My band's noise https://soundcloud.com/lunarasylum

User avatar
scottmoon
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2452
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Sierra Foothills
Contact:

Post by scottmoon » Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:38 pm

The Jamman is stereo and has some sort of sync capabilities. It also requires 9V 150ma. Would have some nice light though.

Image
Image
"If you think this world is bad, you should see some of the others" - PKD

My band's noise https://soundcloud.com/lunarasylum

User avatar
Starspawn
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Starspawn » Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:40 am

So CGS stompbox adapter (just 1 part) has stripboard versions of it, a regulator of 7809 will give you 9V from 12V, and hey presto?
The switch Id change for a toggle instead of stomp unless its multi function, but then the stomp part can probably be changed for a switch button of another kind anyway.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:53 am

Yeah, this is all you really need, 3 parts:
Image



I made a similar circuit on a little perfboard for one of my cases when I needed to drop -12VDC to -6VDC:
Image

User avatar
scottmoon
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2452
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Sierra Foothills
Contact:

Post by scottmoon » Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:49 am

Here's the board of the Jamman with the back of the case off. I'll have to further disassemble later.

Image
"If you think this world is bad, you should see some of the others" - PKD

My band's noise https://soundcloud.com/lunarasylum

User avatar
scottmoon
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2452
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Sierra Foothills
Contact:

Post by scottmoon » Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:16 am

Looks like it will fit on a 12HP faceplate.

Image
"If you think this world is bad, you should see some of the others" - PKD

My band's noise https://soundcloud.com/lunarasylum

User avatar
horstronic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:35 am
Location: Germany

Post by horstronic » Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:40 pm

A lot of stomboxes already have a voltage regulator, so you might not even need an extra one. For example I have a Doepfer MCV4 that I converted to eurorack that way, it works perfectly.
You just need to make shure that the regulator doesn't get too hot.

User avatar
plugugly
Common Wiggler
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx

Post by plugugly » Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:24 pm

^--

Necessitates looking under that skirt!

User avatar
scottmoon
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2452
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Sierra Foothills
Contact:

Post by scottmoon » Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:26 pm

Here's better shots of the boards along with a prettier finished look. There is definitely room for the 4 input and output jacks. There are 2 sync jacks at the top of the unit, to sync to other Jammans. Theoretically you could sync to a floor model or have more than one in a rack, if we can find room to mount the jacks on the front somewhere.

Image
Image
Image
"If you think this world is bad, you should see some of the others" - PKD

My band's noise https://soundcloud.com/lunarasylum

User avatar
scottmoon
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2452
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Sierra Foothills
Contact:

Post by scottmoon » Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:23 pm

I hope I didn't offend anyone by kind of hijacking this thread. It wasn't my intention. I just got excited about the original idea. I've moved my musings over here: viewtopic.php?p=1594593#1594593
"If you think this world is bad, you should see some of the others" - PKD

My band's noise https://soundcloud.com/lunarasylum

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”