Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Cwejman, Doepfer, Erica, MakeNoise, Mutable instruments, TipTop Audio, Analogue Solutions, and much more! The world’s most popular format.
Be sure to look into MANUFACTURER SUB-FORA as well..
Post Reply
toumpouris
Common Wiggler
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 5:26 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by toumpouris »

Hello, potential owner here, wanted to ask: the 2 cv inputs x and y, can they be used to record back cv to midi notes and gates from modular to the computer?
Thanks
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

Yes.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
User avatar
tokidoki
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 1:44 pm
Location: Outland

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by tokidoki »

Naive Teen Idol wrote: Wed Feb 16, 2022 8:23 am FH-2 has two inputs that convert CV to MIDI, but it’s mostly a module that goes the other way. Which means you could def. use the Keystep to control your modules, but there will be fewer inputs (two) to control softsynths.

If you want to stay in the MIDI domain, other ES options include the General CV, which is a more programmable (9-in) CV-to-MIDI converter.

Probably a better option is what I just did which is the ES-3/6/7 combo (if your interface has ADAT) or the ES-8 or ES-9 (which connect via USB). These require you to do some basic setup in Ableton using either CV Tools or Silent Way software to convert the CV to MIDI. The only issue on the latter might be if you have a Windows machine, which don’t technically allow you to run it simultaneously with your other interface (tho I think there are some workarounds). Hence a reason I’d suggest the former setup if your interface allows it.

This article is super helpful: https://www.perfectcircuit.com/signal/e ... face-guide
The General CV is the most precise CV to MIDI interface we have tested until now.

Der Mann mit der Maschine announces a great new interface for the DROID system.

https://shop.dermannmitdermaschine.de/products/x7

And Expert Sleepers announces the new and promising CVM-8.

https://www.modwiggler.com//forum/viewt ... p?t=258930

Great times for the connection between modular and MIDI systems.

An experiment using two General CV modules, modular synth and external expanders :

Plogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by Plogue »

Here's an interesting issue. I can change midi channel just fine using the config tool. However not able to see the change using the device menu alone. When I modify the config> mapping menu the change doesn't seem to update.
Most recent firmware, config, +8gt.

Thoughts? Can add video if unclear. Thanks!
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

Working for me. Perhaps a video would clarify.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
Plogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by Plogue »

Here's a quick video. Thank you Os.
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

Could you switch to the 'show MIDI history' view so we can see the MIDI messages coming in? And ideally turn off MIDI clock in the 'History Inclusion' menu so they don't fly by too quickly.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
Plogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by Plogue »

Here's the midi history with real-time filtered out. Thanks!

Plogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by Plogue »

Plogue wrote: Wed Feb 23, 2022 10:54 am Here's the midi history with real-time filtered out. Thanks!

Small in the embedded window - if you can click through to YouTube visibility improves.
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

You're sending MIDI notes but you're mapping MIDI CCs.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
Plogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by Plogue »

Thank you. I see what you are saying. Can midi note channel be changed without config tool?

I had assumed cc 0 was note.
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

Yes, but you want the MIDI/CV Converter section of the configuration.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
Plogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by Plogue »

os wrote: Wed Feb 23, 2022 11:36 am Yes, but you want the MIDI/CV Converter section of the configuration.
Oops! Didn't realise the "enable" was scrollable. Thanks again, you are the best.
JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by JC14 »

Was wondering if the FH-2 being marked as "not available anymore" at Thomann means there is going to be a follow up that will be announced soon, perhaps during Superbooth 22. Anybody got some intel on this? ;)
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

No, that's just Thomann. The FH-2 is alive and kicking and restocking soon.

And indeed, in stock now:
https://wigglehunt.com/?query=fh-2+-bre ... sort=price
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by JC14 »

Check! Thanks.
SlagRalden
Common Wiggler
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:49 am
Location: Baltimore

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by SlagRalden »

can i do a paraphonic envelope on FH-2? just like a paraphonic gate output but an envelope instead?
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

Yes, if you activate another MIDI/CV converter on the same MIDI channel, make it monophonic, and enable its envelope.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by JC14 »

Does the FH-2 also charge my iPad Pro when you plug it in the USB-C port? So I can still use it as a MIDI controller while charging.
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

No. The FH-2's USB C connector is a USB 2.0 device port and as such does not supply power.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by JC14 »

Same goes for the other USB port?
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

No, the USB A port is a host port and supplies power.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
ES-FAN
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 4:15 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by ES-FAN »

Greetings to everyone on this forum, and most of all, to our musician-coder-clarinetist in chief, the magnificent OS !

Having great fun with a bunch of distings EX, I am discovering the wonderfull world of the FH-2.
The Euclidean/Note/Drum sequencers are already in great source of joy, yet I have one wish :

Would it be possible to include a RANDOM STEP PLAY parameter to spice up patterns and sequences ?
This would be a great addition to the probability, note skip, ratchet...

Regards,
stephane
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17874
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by os »

Would that jump to a random step (and continue playing from there), or play a random step instead of the current one, but otherwise continue along as normal?
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
ES-FAN
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 4:15 am

Re: Expert Sleepers FH-2 'factotum'

Post by ES-FAN »

I was thinking more along the lines of the Keystep Pro random mode :
picking up at random a succession of notes within the ones available in the sequence...
I may have chosen the wrong word : random STEP instead of random MODE, sorry !

Yet your idea of a random STEP is also fantastic, and one could imagine selecting multiple steps in the sequence to make the sequence jump to another step at random !
Post Reply

Return to “1U & 3U Eurorack Modules”