Updating Xaoc Batumi

Cwejman, Doepfer, Erica, MakeNoise, Mutable instruments, TipTop Audio, Analogue Solutions, and much more! The world’s most popular format.
Be sure to look into MANUFACTURER SUB-FORA as well..
Post Reply
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Updating Xaoc Batumi

Post by BasariStudios »

Hello,
why i have big problem updating Batumi to the Expert FW?
I do as described in the Manual and i do not know what i am missing.
I have a Jumper in the UPDATE thing as it is drawn in there with a line around
where it is supposed to be, all the Sliders down, when i open the Program on
PC it asks me to select the FW file, then instructs me to Plugin. When i plugin
it can not find a driver for it but on the small Program for Update continues to
ask me again to select a FW File, then OK again, then the same cycle all over
again...i don't know what i am missing and there is NOTHING on the net i can
find on this or anything on You Tube.
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
User avatar
Bigsteak
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:15 am
Location: United States

Post by Bigsteak »

Try another USB cable and Port. Some USB cables only send power and not data.
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by BasariStudios »

Thanks BigSteak, i will try another USB Port...as far as Cable goes i had to
drive to BestBuy to buy one which was 15$, i don't think i will have option to
try few different cables...ugh. Thanks
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
extensie
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:55 pm

Post by extensie »

I uploaded the expert fw last week and I had two issues: power-only USB cable and missing drivers. For the latter, install the FTDI drivers as described in update_readme.txt.
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by BasariStudios »

Thanks for your help guys, i was excited to get the other functions but it is
impossible for me. I installed the Drivers, 2 different Cables and many different
Usb Ports but it does not work...i guess i'll leave it for now, too bad.
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
User avatar
Dark Barn
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dark Barn »

If you have the drivers installed correctly and the correct type of cord it should show up in your USB devices without running the updater. If you can get that part squared away you should be set. I actually had to try four different cords out of my junk drawer before I found one that worked. I think many of them on the market are just power cords and not wired for data.
I’ve been searchin’ for the dolphins in the sea

https://weakinreview.org
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by BasariStudios »

Thanks...i will see if i find the right Cable somewhere or even
if someone can point me to a link on the net i will order it.
I guess something like this:

But what is weird is its only 4 Bucks, the one from Best Buy i paid 15 bucks and still does not work. LOL

Thanks
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
User avatar
arthurdent
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1024
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: Ohio, along the North Coast

Post by arthurdent »

As already pointed out, a lot of the USB cables with mini plugs are designed only for charging - cell phones, etc. You need to get one that designed for use with an external hard drive or a digital camera. I use the cable that came with an external hard drive that I use with my laptop - it's a 2.5" drive and uses a mini USB cable. I also have a cable for my Canon camera to transfer pics from the camera to the computer.
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by BasariStudios »

Thanks Arthur, i do not seem to find a Cable like that, i guess will wait
until something pops out...the ones on Amazon i do not know which one,
i bought one at Best Buy but it did not work.

Thanks
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
User avatar
erstlaub
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:31 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by erstlaub »

While yes a charging cable won't do the job, the type of cable isn't the only thing that can cause difficulties.

There are a few suggestions/discussions about updates on the last few pages of the main batumi thread - viewtopic.php?t=155713&postdays=0&posto ... &start=350

I'd suggest reading through those rather than waiting until a random cable might pop up on amazon. I've used a USB cable that I know can connect my phone or a camera to a computer, I don't think I've got any USB cables that are charge only TBH.
User avatar
oranginafiend
Common Wiggler
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:53 pm

Post by oranginafiend »

You should also just try a different computer. Neither my Windows PC nor Macbook Pro worked but I went to a friend's house and their PC worked without even having to install the drivers.
User avatar
arthurdent
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1024
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: Ohio, along the North Coast

Post by arthurdent »

I just tried to update my Batumi. I'm using an Apple computer running Mountain Lion 10.8.5 and the update app wouldn't even launch. I tried the factory update and the expert update, no luck at all. I don't have ready access to another computer/operating system so I sent a note to Xoac to see if they can enlighten me.
User avatar
arthurdent
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1024
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: Ohio, along the North Coast

Post by arthurdent »

SUCCESS :yay: :yay:

I went to the MuffWiggler link listed above, on Page 16, Matthias discusses using a Python script to get the updater to run, took a little fudging around to get it to work, went through 2 different USB cables, had to re-boot the computer after I loaded the driver but it worked. I just put the module back in the rack and fired it up, the random stuff is GREAT :banana: :banana:
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by BasariStudios »

arthurdent wrote:the random stuff is GREAT :banana: :banana:
:mad: :mad: :mad:
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
User avatar
BasariStudios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:45 pm
Location: NYC, USA
Contact:

Post by BasariStudios »

Today i found a cable from my Mini Card Reader, its the same exact
Cable...it used to transfer DATA, i should give this a try.
Reality is a Condition due to Lack of Weed!
echox
Common Wiggler
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:02 pm
Location: Germany

Post by echox »

Dark Barn wrote:If you have the drivers installed correctly and the correct type of cord it should show up in your USB devices without running the updater.
You can check this with "lsusb" on linux or a mac and on windows in the device manager of system control.
Anything listed?
roberto raccagni
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:58 am
Location: padova Italy

same problem about new firmware expert batumi

Post by roberto raccagni »

Ciao from Italy.
I tried to install in my computer (Win 7 64 bit with FTDI driver installed) "individual" driver but the answer was: "Error NACK 0x31 programming failed".
After that I tried to install "expert"...
The same answer...
After that I tried with "factory" driver. Just the same...
I put Batumi in my system and all LEDS are lit...
Note that every time the sequenced operations was:
1. Unzip "XAOC Batumi Factory FW.zip"
2. Open XAOC Firmware UpdateTool Win
3. Computer: "Click OK to select a firmware file"
4. I open "Xaoc Firmware Update Tool Win"
5. Computer: Will write firmware "Xaoc Firmware Update Tool Win.exe". Make sure the module...
6. Click OK
7. Computer: "Now plug your module..."
8. I connectded the module
9. Computer: "are you really sure you want...". On the bottom: "Found new device at port Com3"
10. Click OK
11. Computer: "writing firmare"
12. after a minute: "Click OK to select a firmware file". On the bottom: "Error NACK 0x31 programming failed"
13. I disconnect the module from computer, I connected in my eurorack system. All lights are lit!
No function...
I tried on another computer. I used a USB cable from my Korg Nanokontrol2.
Please... Help me
User avatar
rbhansen
Common Wiggler
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:10 am
Location: California

Re: same problem about new firmware expert batumi

Post by rbhansen »

roberto raccagni wrote:Ciao from Italy.
4. I open "Xaoc Firmware Update Tool Win"
5. Computer: Will write firmware "Xaoc Firmware Update Tool Win.exe". Make sure the module...
These steps don't look right to me...you're trying to use the firmware update tool itself as the firmware file. You should be selecting the firmware file...either batumi-v1.0.bin or batumi-alt-v1.1.bin (depending on which version you want) in step 4.

Also, there's more help re firmware updates on the primary Batumi thread at viewtopic.php?t=155713
roberto raccagni
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:58 am
Location: padova Italy

Post by roberto raccagni »

Many thanks to you Rbhansen! It's working now!
Roberto Raccagni
Post Reply

Return to “1U & 3U Eurorack Modules”