Super Sixteen build support thread

Creator of of the Super Sixteen Sequencer and based in San Francisco. This is a DIY and Finished Good product for Eurorack.

Moderators: Kent, extralifedisco

Post Reply
User avatar
Kelaifu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Kelaifu » Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:19 am

skimmed through the whole thread and I don't think this has been covered...

Is it possible to program a new brain PCB without building the rest of the module? I have a couple of sets of partially populated SMT boards and I need to send one set to a friend who's getting into DIY. I need to place a couple of parts the PCB house didnt fit, and ideally program the chip so my friend just needs to do the through hole parts and hopefully it'll be good to go.

So, since the power socket is on the same board, can I just power that single PCB from my rack and program it as normal?

Texy
Common Wiggler
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2021 7:28 am
Location: Newbury, UK

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Texy » Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:28 am

Kelaifu wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:19 am
skimmed through the whole thread and I don't think this has been covered...

Is it possible to program a new brain PCB without building the rest of the module? I have a couple of sets of partially populated SMT boards and I need to send one set to a friend who's getting into DIY. I need to place a couple of parts the PCB house didnt fit, and ideally program the chip so my friend just needs to do the through hole parts and hopefully it'll be good to go.

So, since the power socket is on the same board, can I just power that single PCB from my rack and program it as normal?
I programmed a spare Atmel chip I had even before I received the kit. So if you have the ability to program chips, it can be done via various means. I used an Arduino Uno.
Texy

User avatar
Kelaifu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Kelaifu » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:51 am

Texy wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:28 am
I programmed a spare Atmel chip I had even before I received the kit. So if you have the ability to program chips, it can be done via various means. I used an Arduino Uno.
Texy
Do you mean the through hole DIP chip? I am using the SMT board with the little quad sided package.

User avatar
extralifedisco
Common Wiggler
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:03 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by extralifedisco » Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:34 pm

Kelaifu wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:19 am
skimmed through the whole thread and I don't think this has been covered...

Is it possible to program a new brain PCB without building the rest of the module? I have a couple of sets of partially populated SMT boards and I need to send one set to a friend who's getting into DIY. I need to place a couple of parts the PCB house didnt fit, and ideally program the chip so my friend just needs to do the through hole parts and hopefully it'll be good to go.

So, since the power socket is on the same board, can I just power that single PCB from my rack and program it as normal?
Yes, you can program the chip in-situ on just the the brain PCB. However a partially populated board may not have all the necessary connections. The same is true for either THT or SMT boards. You will need the following components at minumum (part numbers below are for the SMT board, should be the same though):

- power connector
- ICSP connector
- 5v voltage regulator
- 16khz crystal
- crystal capacitor network (2x 22pf - C7/C8)
- clock and reset resistors (R1 - 1M / R2 - 10k)
- power protection diodes (D3/D4)
- power filter chokes (L1, L2, L3)
- power filter caps (C1, C2, preferably C11)

If necessary, you could bridge the chokes and diodes with jumpers for the purpose of programming but then you'd have a desoldering job on your hands as well.

User avatar
Kelaifu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Kelaifu » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:01 pm

extralifedisco wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:34 pm
Yes, you can program the chip in-situ on just the the brain PCB. However a partially populated board may not have all the necessary connections. The same is true for either THT or SMT boards. You will need the following components at minumum (part numbers below are for the SMT board, should be the same though):
Brilliant!, when i said partially populated, it's only missing 3 parts on the brain PCB, I placed them already so we should be good to go. Now to try follow the youtube videos on flashing.

Thanks for the awesome module and the feedback extralifedisco!

Post Reply

Return to “Extralife Instruments”